Veterinary Pathobiology

Jerry Ritchey, DVM, PhD, DACVP—Professor and Department Head

The Department of Veterinary Pathobiology provides contemporary and state-of-the-art instruction and research for the disciplines of bacteriology, immunology, parasitology, pathology, virology, epidemiology and public health. The Department is the proud home of the National Center for Veterinary Parasitology, the Director of the University’s Animal Resource Unit, and faculty associated with the Oklahoma Animal Disease Diagnostic Laboratory. Departmental faculty participate in research sponsored by the NIH, USDA and private industry focused on infectious diseases important in animals and people. The department is actively engaged in training the next generation of veterinarians and scientists, publishing basic and applied works and presenting our findings at scientific and educational platforms throughout the world.

Residency Programs

Residency Coordinators: Dr. Valerie McElliott, Anatomic Residency Coordinator; and Dr. James H. Meinkoth, Clinical Residency Coordinator

Residency programs in anatomic and clinical veterinary pathology are offered. Candidates must have the DVM degree or equivalent. The anatomic and clinical pathology residency programs are three years with options to enter into the PhD program. The programs are designed for those interested in diagnostic veterinary pathology and board certification by the American College of Veterinary Pathologists. Residency training occurs through the Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital and through the Oklahoma Animal Disease Diagnostic Laboratory. The program involves extensive diagnostic casework on primarily domestic animals and includes weekly case conferences and seminars. In addition, abundant archived materials are available for the specialty board preparation.

Application Procedure

Usually one new residency training position is available each year in anatomic pathology and two of every three years in clinical pathology. Open positions are listed at the ACVP website ( and typically in the “Educational Opportunities” section of the Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association.

*Jerry Ritchey, DVM, PhD, DACVP—Professor and Department Head

Regents Professors and Endowed Chairs: *Anthony W. Confer, DVM, PhD, DACVP (emeritus) and Walter R. Sitlington Endowed Chair; Clinton J. Jones, PhD, and Sitlington Endowed Chair; *Susan Little, DVM, PhD, DAVPC-Parasitology and Krull/Ewing Endowed Chair
Professors: *James H. Meinkoth, DVM, PhD, DACVP; Mason Reichard, PhD; *Timothy Snider, DVM, PhD, DACVP
Clinical Professors: *Todd Jackson, DVM, DACLAM; *Theresa Rizzi, DVM, DACVP
Associate Professors: Tom Oomens, PhD; *Akhilesh Ramachandran, BVSc&AH, PhD, DACV; *Jared Taylor, DVM, MPH, PhD, DACVIM, DACVPM
Assistant Professors: Kelly Allen, MS, PhD; *Fernando Vicosa Bauermann, DVM, PhD; *Valerie McElliott, DVM, PhD, DACVP, *Craig Miller, DVM, PhD, DACVP; *Sunil More BVSc & AH, MVSc, PhD; *Ruth C. Scimeca BVSc, PhD
Clinical Assistant Professor: *Susan E. Fielder, DVM, DACVP
Associate Research Professor: Edmour Blouin, PhD (emeritus)
Lecturer: *Dr. Jennifer Rudd, DVM, PhD; Meriam Saleh, PhD
Research Scientist: Mayara Maggioli
Residents: Katheryn Duncan, DVM; Dah Jiun Fu, DVM, Alexa Hunter, DVM; Ryan Kalish, DVM; Scott Mitchell, DVM; Stacy Woods, DVM
Post-Doctoral Fellows: Kelly Harrison, PhD; Jeff Ostler, PhD;
Graduate Teaching Associates: Laximan Sawant, BVSc, MVSc

*Board Certification in Specialty Area