Veterinary Pathobiology

Jerry Ritchey, DVM, PhD, DACVP—Professor and Department Head
Residency Coordinators: Dr. Melanie A. Breshears, Anatomic Residency Coordinator; and Dr. James H. Meinkoth, Clinical Residency Coordinator

Residency programs in anatomic and clinical veterinary pathology are offered. Candidates must have the DVM degree or equivalent. The anatomic and clinical pathology residency programs are three years with options to enter into the PhD program. The programs are designed for those interested in diagnostic veterinary pathology and board certification by the American College of Veterinary Pathologists. Residency training occurs through the Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital and through the Oklahoma Animal Disease Diagnostic Laboratory. The program involves extensive diagnostic casework on primarily domestic animals and includes weekly case conferences and seminars. In addition, abundant archived materials are available for the specialty board preparation.

Application Procedure

Usually one new residency training position is available each year in anatomic pathology and two of every three years in clinical pathology. Open positions are listed at the ACVP website ( and typically in the “Educational Opportunities” section of the Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association.

*Jerry Ritchey, DVM, PhD, DACVP—Professor and Department Head
Regents Professors and Endowed Chairs: *Anthony W. Confer, DVM, PhD, DACVP and Walter R. Sitlington Endowed Chair; Clinton J. Jones, PhD, and Sitlington Endowed Chair; *Susan Little, DVM, PhD, DAVPC-Parasitology and Krull/Ewing Endowed Chair
Professors: *Melanie Breshears, DVM, PhD, DACVP; Kenneth Clinkenbeard, DVM, PhD (emeritus); *Jean M. d'Offay, DVM, PhD, DACVM; Richard W. Eberle, PhD; *Robert W. Fulton, DVM, PhD, DACVM (emeritus); Katherine M. Kocan, MSPH, PhD (emerita); *James H. Meinkoth, DVM, PhD, DACVP; *Roger Panciera, DVM, PhD, DACVP (emeritus); Mason Reichard, PhD; *Timothy Snider, DVM, PhD, DACVP
Associate Professors: Tom Oomens, PhD; *Jared Taylor, DVM, MPH, PhD, DACVIM, DACVPM
Assistant Professors: Kelly Allen, MS, PhD; *Craig Miller, DVM, PhD, DACVP; *Akhilesh Ramachandran, BVSc&AH, PhD, DACVM
Clinical Professors: *Todd Jackson, DVM, DACLAM; *Theresa Rizzi, DVM, DACVP
Clinical Associate Professors: *Keith Bailey, DVM, PhD, DACVP
Clinical Assistant Professor: *Susan E. Fielder, DVM, DACVP; Yoko Nagamori, DVM; Grant B. Rezabek, DVM, MPH
Associate Research Professor: Edmour Blouin, PhD (emeritus)
Assistant Research Professor: Sahlu Ayalew, PhD
Residents: Rory Chen, DVM; Ryan Kallish, DVM; Maggie McCourt, DVM; Sierra Salopek, DVM; Erin Stayton, DVM
Post-Doctoral Fellows: Kelly Harrison, PhD; Jeff Oster, PhD; Meriam Saleh, PhD; Liqian Zhu, MS, PhD
Graduate Teaching Associates: Nabin Poudel, BVSc; Laximan Sawant, BVSc, MVSc

*Board Certification in Specialty Area